Fiction logo

The candy merchant

The vindicatory

By Anna Published 4 months ago 2 min read
8
Photo: google.com

My name's Naomi, but at night I've no name or identity. No one knows or recognises me, I hide everything and keep myself in secret.

What I do is not preffered by the authorities. I write for people. Not just anything, but I'm a vindicatory. I investigate certain people's life and tell them about dangerous relationships around them in letters. I have to reword and code them in case I get caught by Martino, the head of the local mafia group. He's blody-handed and doesn't show mercy to anyone, who tries to prevent his plans, or had worked for him before and is likely to give out information about him.

Last time I was totally embittered, it seemed that I ran out of options...

It was a cold February winter day in 1898... I had to help a boy. More precisely his parents, but I decided to write to the child, since it seemed to be less suspicious and I could make it without getting caught.

I was sitting in a café late at night and just staring at the piece of paper in front of me which was just as empty as my mind. However a few minutes later the inspiration came immediately to my mind. I grabbed my pen and started writing a little poem:

"Brush your teeth and go to bed

Before your parents get mad.

But first show them this paper

Put it on their table

So they won't miss your drawing

And they go to sleep smilin'

I wish you a good night

With dreams so bright"

Your Secret Writer

I also wrote down my address on the back so that the parents could get in touch with me:

"If you're reading this, connect me immediately for candy!!!

My shop is in NY, Main St 68."

"Candy"

This was the key. I had to prove that I wasn't just somebody drawing and writing nonsense. I remembered that the parents were working with Martino on a plan named "candy".This happened years ago and the parents have already given up on the cooperation starting a new life. This was the reason why the mafia boss wanted to execute them. He couldn't risk anything.

When I finished the letter, I proudly slid it into the envelope.

"I'm gonna take this message to the family as soon as I can. I don't know how much time we have left..."


Written for Real Poetic's Secret Writer Challenge:

Short StoryMicrofiction
8

About the Creator

Anna

"Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart" - Colossians 3:23

Read and learn about me HERE!

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringale4 months ago

    This is very well-written Anna. Keep it up.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I hope it all works , secrets tend to be found out.

  • Thomas Terry4 months ago

    Great story!!

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Fascinating and suspenseful story. It makes me want to learn more!

  • Wow! Very interesting! Best!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.