Fiction logo

When It Is Safe

Submission for Real Poetic's Secret Writer Challenge

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
8
When It Is Safe
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Here is Real Poetic's newest challenge!

***

February 2, 1809

I shiver under the big oak tree, the marker to divide the Master from the slaves. Snowflakes dot my curly black hair in quick succession; I will be drenched and near frozen by the time I get back home. Hopefully, Momma will not be home to interrogate me, forcing me to lie to her face again.

Lies seem to be the only thing my tongue is good for in recent weeks. They fall from my mouth as easily as my hands write poetry and stories. The important parts of my life are secrets I wish I could escape as easily as the exhausted sighs escape my lips.

Cautiously, I pull out my handmade journal and small piece of graphite from my thinning pocket and start to write. A foolish thing to do as a slave, but when I start feeling pensive, my passion takes over without much care for my preservation. It is a knife's edge, and I fear for the day when I slip off toward foolishness.

The sound of a cracking branch interrupts me. Rather than take the chance, I put my book away, hoping the thought is still there when I return. The decision proves wise as a handsome pale man comes into view. Instead of casting my eyes downward as I should, I look deeply into his warm blue eyes.

"Mary," he says endearingly.

"Timothy." We collide, arms wrapping each other tightly. "I cannot stay long."

"Me either. Father expects me to attend the ball tonight, and I must get ready soon." Timothy tenderly holds my head between his gloved hands. "I...I just needed to see you." He seems more nervous than usual, and my heart starts to race.

"Timothy, is everything-"

"I love you."

I nearly choke on my words, my throat closing with emotion. "I love you too."

The words are barely out of my mouth when Timothy kisses me, causing me to almost lose all sense and thrust my treasured notebook in his hands. But as we continue to kiss, I am certain of two things. My love for this man and this--one day I will show him, when it is safe for us both.

Because in this world I am in more danger as a slave who can read and write than Timothy is as a white man in love with a slave.

Word Count: 394 words

***

MicrofictionLoveHistorical
8

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Fabulous work!! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Absolute truth.

  • Great story so poignant and beautiful

  • Wow! So beautiful!

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Wow. Fascinating twist at the end! Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.