Poets logo

When I Look At You

A poem to my Beloved

By Natasja RosePublished 3 years ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
19
When I Look At You
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I look at you in the recliner

Holding a Solo and your phone

We're relaxing after dinner

You are my heart's home

By Chewy on Unsplash

I send you a meme on Facebook

And wait for a cackle from the next room

You read a screenshot through the wall

I laugh, and feel my heart bloom

By Surface on Unsplash

My fingers dance over a keyboard

I'm writing another book.

I keep a scene because I know you'll love it

Even if others think that it's crook

By Maria Vlasova on Unsplash

I look at ring designs on Etsy

Because I know you'll like one unique

It's based off your favourite fandom

For you are my beloved geek

By AllGo - An App For Plus Size People on Unsplash

I read fanfic aloud on a lazy day

I know when to pause for effect

I love to watch your reactions

I feel my life is perfect

By Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

You trust me with pain and heartbreak,

As much as with joys and dreams.

You smooth my jagged edges,

Know when I feel more than it seems.

By Amy Shamblen on Unsplash

We can be quiet, or anxious, or sad,

Or happy, or excited, or loud.

We are never too much, and always enough,

We've come so far, and I'm so proud.

By Mayur Gala on Unsplash

A glance is all that is required,

To know what the other needs.

We read volumes in every expression

It is no trouble for the other to heed.

By Fadi Xd on Unsplash

The room is still and quiet,

Peaceful, a world of our own.

One reads as the other slumbers,

Hearts reside as imaginations roam.

By freestocks on Unsplash

I can picture our lifes together

Stretching on until the end of time

I love you and think of our future

I an glad that you chose to be mine

By Mayur Gala on Unsplash

A poem inspired by sitting in the loungeroom after dinner with my partner, reading Facebook over their shoulder and procrastinating working on my latest draft.

Within relationships, communication doesn't always have to be verbal (though my favourite moments are when Lyndal is editing and shouts at me through the kitchen wall because she's just hit a cliffhanger and Character X had better be alive in the next chapter...!). Sometimes, a single glance is enough to know what's needed, whether that's a hug, reassurance, or just the opportunity to be quiet together.

Often, love is in the little things, rather than grand gestures or florid declarations or flashy speeches. There's a time and place for those big things, of course, but the true test of a relationship is in the ability to do nothing in the same proximity, without feeling like there is anything lacking. Love is funny like that, sometimes...

While this is a poem, rather than a short story or other prose, I felt it fit the challenge, and there was nothing saying that the entries for the Unspoken Challenge couldn't be a particularly long poem...

I'll probably have more entries later, when I'm not sitting on a bus and trying not to let my phone go flying every time the driver jerks to a sudden stop, but for now, you can enjoy this entry.

If you enjoyed this, check out the other poems on my profile, and leave a heart or a tip.

love poems
19

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.