Poets logo

When I Inhale You

I associate you

By Brin J.Published about a year ago 1 min read
6
*unsplash* roman-kraft

Many believe that smells hold the best memories

Coffee is often associated with comfort

Soap is associated with cleanliness

But when I inhale your smell...

I associate you with nostalgia

with memories of my youth, and promises of an adventurous future

I associate you with kindness

with the compassion of a mother, and the honor of a father

I associate you with passion

with a dance partner who'd lead, and a stargazer who'd set me free

I associate you as a storyteller

with words that'll capture our chapter, and a title people would envy

I associate you with happiness

with dreams that become reality, and hope that becomes fulfilled

I associate you with wine

with the taste of intoxication, and euphoria of inebriation

I associate you with nature

with colorful wildflowers, the ocean, and forests of tall trees

I associate you with love

with something as ancient as life itself, and something as endless as time

I associate you with home

with a sense of absolute belonging, and a place to call my own

surreal poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Kim Loostromabout a year ago

    Beautiful prose and strong emotions, I really enjoyed reading!

  • Josep Ebuchabout a year ago

    nice one

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Very moving Brin and pretty universal actually as well in that it's hard to imagine anyone not identifying with the sentiments you reveal here. Great job!

  • Nice piece ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.