Poets logo

When I grow up

dare to dream

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2023
61
Created with CanvaPro

When I grow up, I want to be a thesaurus,

A veritable wordsmithing dinosaur.

I'd know every difference, distinction and nuance,

Between the shades of cherish, admire, adore.

Everyone would come to me seeking clarity,

I'd smile and spin out synonyms and antonyms, en masse.

Questions would come to me daily,

Pleading, begging, imploring for world-class.

If someone was feeling quite happy,

I'd help them figure out, examine, explore.

Were they a hint of joyful, delighted, contented?

Or would I be searching for a word like adore?

Maybe they'd be writing a thriller

on a dark and dreary, wet day,

They'd need descriptors of menace aplenty,

I'd find peril, risk, hazard–all great to convey!

Shades of blue you're now needing and wanting?

Lapis, cerulean, aqua, or navy might do.

Let me keep thinking, pondering, ruminating,

I might come up with a dozen more hues that are new.

And if you have deep feelings of sadness,

I'd be there to commiserate, sympathize and console,

Surround you with so many comforts,

It would be my absolute, utmost, primary goal.

Maybe you're curious about a current-day phrasing,

What's drippin', bussin', rent-free?

Lowkey, I'd need to consult and confer with my cousin,

Urban dictionary would spill all the tea.

Whatever your needs, whatever your must-haves,

I'd guide you to satisfactory conclusion.

And at the end of the day, I'd hope you're well on your way

To seeming highbrow, bookish, wise-a profusion!

Yes, it's my biggest dream, my deepest ambition,

I love words and want to share them with you.

Maybe instead of pining away, hoping to be a thesaurus,

I'll be a poet, they're marvels at using words too.

____________________________________________________

Just a silly little tribute to my good friend, the thesaurus.

* * * * * *

If you liked this piece, please consider reading more of my work!

love poemslistinspirational
61

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (46)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    What a fun read! How did this slip by me? Well, let me offer my very belated congratulations!

  • Bryan Buffkinabout a year ago

    Might have to share this with my students. Cute and playful. Loved it.

  • McKenzie McQuadeabout a year ago

    Very cute and makes me want to be a thesaurus too

  • Oluwatoyin Adelekeabout a year ago

    Cute understable.

  • Oluwatoyin Adelekeabout a year ago

    What a great dream

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Mmmmm... This poem was straight bussin'. Certainly lackin' no flavor at all. Hammer out those words, coin those phrases, dare to be Shakespearin' with no fear in You at all.

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    Very well done, my friend and congratulations.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This is great. Very clever!

  • Mekayla Brooksabout a year ago

    I imagine this as a cute little illustrated storybook :)

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    What an amazing aspiration! This poem was absolutely delightful to read!! LOVED this!

  • Kyannaabout a year ago

    I love the whimsy! I found this to be such a joy to read

  • Zohaib Sunesaraabout a year ago

    A beautiful poem on the theme of growing up! The idea of embracing the present while looking forward to the future is inspiring. Thank you for sharing your words.

  • Kimabout a year ago

    I loooove this! The photo too 🤣 I use PowerThesaurus.com - if you haven’t tried it I highly recommend.

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Such a bubbly poem! Well done and congrats, Heather!

  • Noyon Khanabout a year ago

    Congrats on your top story

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    "I'd help them figure out, examine, explore. Were they a hint of joyful, delighted, contented? Or would I be searching for a word like adore?" Such a great poem Heather! <3

  • Jessica Bandaabout a year ago

    This is wonderful!

  • Wowwww, this was so brilliant and so YOU! I loved the concept of this piece. A very fun tribute to the thesaurus!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations of Top Story - this was so sweet and fun too 😊

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, my friend!! This one is so clever and so deserving!! 🥰

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    So charming & well-written! Congrats on your Top Story! BRAVO! 😁💛

  • Brin J.about a year ago

    Omg the cute lil dinosaur! Lol, this was an adorable read. I can see how it got top stories :). Congrats Heather. I'm so proud of you. And you inspire me every time I read one of your pieces to become a better writer.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Cute and clever! A diamond ditty!! 💎 love it. ❤️

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    Congrats on your top story!!!

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    I've loved the phrase "Wordsmith" since forever and here you are raising the bar yet again - what wonderful piece of art you have graced us with thank you and kudos!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.