Poets logo

a rare day

indeed

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
40
Created with CanvaPro

I'm sharing this beautiful and moving song by one of my very favorite artists, Ed Sheeran, titled 'Visiting Hours'. I hope you take a listen.

it's a rare day when I don't see you.

you're in my reflection

peering back at me on the still lake

where we fed ducks,

and in the mirror

laughing as I try to tame this

curly mane passed down to me

from mother to mother.

I see you through blue eyes,

a perfect match to yours

and the boyish ones I made.

it's a rare day when I don't feel you

in the back of my mind,

mixed up in sadness and wishes

of a bitter past and a better future.

you're in my heartbeat,

wrapped up in my DNA,

pouring out of my eyes in drips

as I feel your absence.

it's a rare day when I don't hear you

coming out through my voice,

laughing at silly things you did,

copying advice you used to give,

talking about where things went wrong

with us.

it's a rare day when I don't remember that

you're gone.

________________________________________________

Written for the Uncommon challenge.

It was really hard for me to write this one. My mom passed away in January of 2022, so it's been a little over a year now. It's been hard to process. I don't talk about it for a lot of reasons. Like so many relationships, it was complicated. But this piece just wrote itself.

* * * * * *

Here is another recent poem from me if you'd like to read more of my work, thank you!

sad poetryheartbreak
40

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie Hoogstad2 months ago

    This was such a bittersweet piece, capturing the complicated love between mother and daughter. So beautiful and moving. 💜

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    So good! "pouring out of my eyes in drips as I feel your absence"

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    One of my favorite poems from you, Heather!

  • This is Terrific❤️❗

  • Judey Kalchik 12 months ago

    Beautiful- and I hope you enter it in the new Sense Challenge, too.

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    This is such a beautiful tribute 💖

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I relate to this so much. Beautiful.

  • Lea Springerabout a year ago

    Beautiful, Heather. Remembering is one thing but not being able to talk to your mother about the memories is what "pours out of (your) eyes"--as it does for us all who have lost someone. Heartful condolences.❤️

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    This is an absolute heart filler. Very well done. I felt every word.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I don't know what more I could add to the comments below, so I'll just give you my love, insight and subscription instead (and this comment). Masterfully done!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very good! Well written!!!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This feels like a winner to me. Beautiful writing. I can feel the emotion in your words.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, this has all the feels and brought tears to my eyes 😢 Truly beautiful wording and this is an emotional masterpiece. I am so sorry to hear about your mom 😢 Thank you so much for sharing this. ❤️

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I don't mind saying that having lost my mom a month ago, this really hits home. Beautiful tribute, and SO well written. This may well be my favorite and the song just adds to it. GREAT poem!

  • Natalie Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    Wrapped up in my DNA, pouring out of my eyes in drips❤️

  • PPabout a year ago

    ❤️ I like your content, so I subscribed

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Warm and heartfelt, left lots of love💕💖

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    OOOOUUUCCCHHH! OOO! Oh! Heather, You got me right in the feels. I'm going to need a moment after that. Goodness, hitting hard with the emotions on that one. That being written, I wonder if I could make a nice poem inspired by Yours. *cracks knuckles* I have to say It's a rare day To see the time go by As I stare in my eyes Upon the mirror's reflection And think of myself and Those of my family along with the ones that came before me About how they scringed, and fought, and scrounged, The family tree's historical story I have to admit that I'm glad Cause I have a privilege most don't Which is a Mom and a Dad It's weird that I don't talk to them every single day, by choice Cause every time we're on the phone my mom says that "I missed the sound of Your voice." Sometimes I feel like a disrespectful son Cause I'll be engrossed in TV, a game, or some impertinent chore while on the run It's still very rare to think that my family's weird Cause in love, one another we smother So, it's weird to on days that I forget that I'm a brother It's weird when I'm so self-centered that I forget I have siblings Even with such focus, they manage to give me Time out of their day to send me things to laugh and vibe It's not always a reunion, sometimes we check in just to make sure one another's alive It's weird and a rare day when I think that most families get to live close Our immediate's equally separated from paternal and maternal, relative to both It's a rare day when I think that siblings arguing is normal Especially since our parents told us how to debate one another with grammatical language that's formal It's a rare day when I want to do nothing and don't go out to play Since being active is apart of my, a living continuance of my parents' DNA It's a rare day when I look at myself and don't see my family as apart of me Even though my siblings and I are establishing our careers, spaced out rather separately It's a rare day when I don't want to think about the health of the ones that I love It's a rare day when we don't say "I love You," after arguing when push-comes-to-shove It's a rare day when I'm not thankful for all that I've been given. It's a rare day when I don't count my familial blessings and for the time that we're livin' It's a rare day when I'm so furious at them that I don't want to see them if I'm feeling crossed It's a rare day when I don't mourn the time that I spend with them, cause in the future when we're gone I'll be sad about our loss.

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    A heartfelt sentiment of a poem.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Wow. Truly heartfelt. What a way to honor the relationship you had with your mother.

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    SO beautiful!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Omg so heartfelt and beautiful Heather. Sending you so much love 💞 this was truly amazing 💖

  • Again a wonderful heartfelt set of lines, beautiful

  • Poppy about a year ago

    This is such a raw and powerful poem. Sorry to hear of your loss though and hope you’re doing okay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.