Poets logo

When Can I Say It

hopefully soon

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I found you at the right time

trying to get to know you

so that I can show you

we could be in love

No, I'm not joking

but I don't want to come on too strong

we could start with one hang

see if this is the right thing

I'm willing to put it to the test

and let our chemistry do the rest

one day we will be old

saying it took one date

love sparked and the rest was history

if I was more confident

I could have said it outright

the right clever line

at an earlier time

and the threat of our friendship

wouldn't be an issue

to think

that means I could have started my life with you

earlier than we will get started

oh well

if it's you

the beginning doesn't matter

you being there at the end does

love poemssad poetrylist

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kim Thayer2 years ago

    Great job! It's relatable, for sure It speaks to me, personally...as my current husband and I moved past vulnerability, beyond the boundary of life-long friendship - and into authentic love. We always say that we can't regret the time we lost...but being here, now, and spending what time we do have left on this earth together...that's what truly matters. Looking forward to reading more of your creations!

HufflecupWritten by Hufflecup

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.