Poets logo

Looking For Happiness

we all deserve it

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

It feels like I am running out of time

like I am desperate for human connection

because I have been deprived of any real intimacy

my family didn't show emotion

most of my friends come and go

and I have never felt truly desired by anyone

I don't know what a romantic relationship really feels like

I can only wonder

so maybe that is why I am trying to love deeper now

because I finally see my family as flawed humans who also struggle

I want the friends I make now to last a lifetime

is it really so bad I want to spend time with them

and maybe that explains why this crush feels different

I have opened my heart to love

and something inside me is pulling my heart towards yours

I want to tell you

to talk to you about everything

to see you more

to do the little day-to-day things with you

to know what true intimacy feels like

and I only want it with you

I wish I could tell you now

just to get it out in the open

but somehow make it clear that I have no expectation of when you will feel it back

because it is you that makes me happy

even if we only ever call ourselves friends

I will love you

love is love

we get to be the ones who define what it looks like

performance poetrysocial commentarylove poems

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HufflecupWritten by Hufflecup

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.