Poets logo

What Is Love

I’m Still Finding Out

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3

I wear my heart on my sleeve

And pretend that I’m tough

I’m a romantic at heart

And scared to death of true love

I used to believe there was one for each one

Now that sentiment mocks me and makes me feel dumb

Love is like fire, burning hot then burns out

What happened to love steady and true when it counts

I watched my dad handle that kind of love

He covered my mom with it when life became rough

It was tattered and torn and had seen better days

Yet it held them together, guiding them through life’s maze

That is the love that I dream about late in the night

The kind my dad showed me, as he stood by her side

So I will continue to reveal my heart

Determined to believe that the rewards worth the hurt

love poems
3

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Just one small editorial remark: Since you use the possessive "life's" on the fifth line from the end, you probably want to use the contraction "reward's" on the final line.

  • Poignant, beautiful, powerful. I've known couples where one moves into the nursing home because the other must & stays by their side through the very last breath, tender, yearning & breaking. It is a whelming thing to behold. Well done.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is so beautiful. I hope you find a guy that can live up to your Dad ‘s modeling . At least you seen in person what true love look like.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.