Poets logo

What is everything?

How do I know...

By Anna Published 9 days ago 1 min read
12
Image generated by Gencraft

Who is my mother?

Who is my lover?

Who is my sister?

My brother?

My cousin?

My friend?

Who do I trust in fact?

And rely on when I'm totally trapped?

Who do I say "I love you dear."

When in this world you can't find real

Everything's fake that you've ever seen.

So how do I know when to leave?

Where to find true friendships to keep?

***

Friends and clowns

against each other

in this endless, disgusting game.

***

Written for the Vocal Dialogue Poetry Challenge.

A fake world we live in...

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this poem, please let me know by leaving a tip, a like or a comment. Subscribe if you're interested in my work, and check out other poems of mine too! Any support is appreciated! <3

You might like these too:

performance poetrysurreal poetryinspirational
12

About the Creator

Anna

"Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart" - Colossians 3:23

Check out my website HERE!

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 days ago

    Inspirational performance poem!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • So many questions, wonderfully presented

  • The questions you raise about the authenticity of relationships and the struggle to find true friendships are thought-provoking. The contrasting imagery of friends and clowns battling in an endless and disgusting game adds a sense of disillusionment. Wonderful, and have a nice day!

  • Grogu8 days ago

    You can trust your father! 😉

  • Ah, a disgusting game it is. I have no idea who to trust either but I try to be true to myself. Loved your poem!

  • Love this

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    Ooh, you hit the nail on the head here! I loved it😍 profound statements, especially the last portion!

  • John Cox9 days ago

    Excellent and thoughtful poem, Anna! It is hard to get past all the fake in the world these days. Finding the truth is never easy!

  • Live for the sake of giving and give for the sake of living, but always keep what you need to keep going or you'll have nothing to give and no way to live. It's a tough balance, but you got what it takes to strike it! Well-wrought! Write on!

  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    Truer words never spoken, there are so many sad stories, as if everyone just wants what they want, actually, it is human nature. The few genuine ones torture themselves trying to please them. So just do for you and remember kindness to those who deserve it.

  • Trying being conscious about your mind when you are trapped. See, what is the nature of the mind. Then, hope you will find a solution 😊.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.