Poets logo

Overthinking

over dreaming

By Anna Published 11 days ago 1 min read
Image generated by Gencraft

Everytime, I close my eyes

I start to overthink

it's a thing

that makes me sick.

I can't even sleep

because when I'm tryna dream

several thoughts are flashing through my mind

like stars on the sky

on a cloudless summer night.

The world is spinning around me,

I know this is wild,

but when I really dream,

I see home,

my only and one.

I imagine the sun

getting just over the horizon,

leaving light and warmth

wherever it can,

while I'm sitting outside,

in the garden

watching the dance of the pleasant sea breeze

with the tranquil waves.

it's funny, how we're told to be free,

yet you can't leave your country

if you don't have the money.

And what about justice?

Some can travel,

others don't have the chance

they can't go nowhere,

just stay

and accept their fate

and hope that

in the end

when there will be no more time left

and the Lord gathers us together

it won't really matter

where you have been

and what you have seen

until you did your best.

***

Written for Randy Baker's Prompt #5:

Image generated by Gencraft

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed my poem, please let me know by leaving a tip, a like or a comment. Don't forget to subscribe if you're interested in my work, and check out other poems of mine too! Any support is appreciated! <3

You might like these too:

inspirationalsad poetryMental Healthheartbreak

About the Creator

Anna

"Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart" - Colossians 3:23

Check out my website HERE!

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Grogu10 days ago

    Bee good, like Grogu! 😁

  • Rony Sutradar10 days ago

    The way how you see love and feel it is brilliant. I subscribed you to give my support and I welcome you to read my ones too 🥰!

  • Novel Allen10 days ago

    Such a beautiful thought provoking poem, i like the format and thoughts on those burdened by the troubles of the world.

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Inspiring and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • John Cox11 days ago

    I absolutely loved this poem, Anna. Beautiful and thought provoking!

  • Christy Munson11 days ago

    Lovely writing. 🤩

  • Colleen Walters11 days ago

    I’m a pro at overthinking…. Very relatable. What do you think it would cost to leave a country and where would you want to go? Just curious… already overthinking 😁😊❤️😆😍

  • angela hepworth11 days ago

    Awesome work! The imagery is next level. Great contribution to the challenge!

  • Dawnxisoul393art11 days ago

    The vivid imagery, from the "stars on the sky on a cloudless summer night" to the "dance of the pleasant sea breeze with the tranquil waves," provides a calming respite from the mental anguish described, the contrast between the longing for freedom and the harsh realities of economic and geographical constraints is a thought-provoking reflection on the complexities of the human experience, the final stanza offers a glimmer of hope, suggesting that in the end, what truly matters is not where one has been or what one has seen, but rather the sincerity of one's efforts and the depth of one's character. Your words resonate with a deep understanding of the human condition, and the way you weave together these powerful themes with such lyrical grace is truly admirable, this is a profound and moving poem that touches the heart and challenges the mind. Thank you very much for sharing, and have a nice weekend mate!

  • Anna, it was exactly 7 days after your last poem. Truly these are kind of our experiences. Well done!

  • "it's funny, how we're told to be free, yet you can't leave your country if you don't have the money. And what about justice? Some can travel, others don't have the chance they can't go nowhere, just stay and accept their fate" Gosh these lines hit so hard because it's the ultimate truth! Loved your poem!

  • Great words and love the image and will add Randy's Challenge to the Vocal Social Society thread. Thank you

Anna  Written by Anna

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.