Poets logo

Light Switch

When existential dread keeps you awake at night

By Simon GeorgePublished 9 days ago 2 min read
introspectivedsgn (Pexels)

My thoughts trap me in a confined space,

With no room to breathe.

I can't sleep, but I need to…

…turn off my brain like a light switch,

Or put it in sleep mode.

I hate feeling like this -

- Out - of – control.

I hurt myself;

The way that I talk to myself is – unkind.

B-b-u-t I have no one else.

So, I can't stop myself. I try…

Ugh.

But, there's nowhere to hide from myself…

My thoughts are illuminated in excruciating detail.

...

I'm an overthinker.

I wish I could turn my brain off. No. My thoughts.

I wish I could make them stop. Set myself a limit.

A time release.

But the solutions I turn to cost too much.

Like switches, I can't reach.

Holidays, oh, how I dare to dream.

A vacation is what I need, but that costs…

money… Which I don't have. Time, which I do, but gets wasted by the things that drain me.

My thoughts turn to therapy, but that's a luxury for the rich.

I'm not made of money.

…I think about my future, but that's a…

Mistake.

The kind of thoughts I wish I could turn off.

The ones that make everything seem worse…

I want to black them out like an eclipse.

So…

...

I get stuck - in my – head - again.

Ugh.

It's hard to escape, but

I need to - stick - it - out… Get through another day.

Tomorrow will be better.

I can start again.

...

All I do is start again

And here come those extra thoughts. The unnecessary ones...

I'm tired of failure… Tired of rejection…

I need something to change,

but I don't have the power to change it.

Ugh, I want to turn off the lights.

…I blink…

…My thoughts keep me from sleeping.

They are the reason the world spins.

The cause of the hurt in my heart…

....The one that wants to sleep...

To heal.

To feel better.

Somehow,

hope still resides there.

If only - I can turn out the lights…

Then I can sleep.

Wake in a better state

…until the next time I break.

_____________________________

© Simon George 2024. All Rights Reserved.

_____________________________

Mental Health

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    Overthinking usually comes when one is introverted and deeply in touch with the universe, learning to shrug off the doldrums needs practice, one has to let go and let life

Simon GeorgeWritten by Simon George

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.