Poets logo

What I learn from Orbit

Or how Mother leads by example

By Tarik MurrellPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
What I learn from Orbit
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

How is the Earth not bored? Earth has seen the same star for almost 5 billion years. Does Earth not wonder what it’s like to spin like Mars? Is the Earth never curious about the jewelry of Saturn?

I stopped wondering and asked her.

She smiled at my youth, my naivete. She told me the path is different every day. The time it takes is the same, roughly but she’s always on the move. She reminds me she’s on a constant path forward, expanding with an expanding cosmos. She reminds me that she’s changed her body more times and in more ways than she can count. That she’s believed in entire societies that I will never hear about. She tells me that she’s made it this long because she’s kept this ritual. This is her freedom, her tether. She’s not chained to the Sun, she’s freed by it. This grounds her.

The brief visitors of comets who obey no rituals see themselves burnt about. They live fast and die young. They make no true progress. They have no central drive. She tells me that the core of her and those around her is what gives them names. They tell a story about a comet, they write books about us.

What I see as sameness, she sees as discipline.

inspirationalsurreal poetrynature poetryart
1

About the Creator

Tarik Murrell

A physicist learning to write.

I wrote a book! $10 and it's yours.

I want to eat from my writing. I feed it , so it can feed me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    You have a really lovely collection of poetry here…. Why did you decide to share them only now?!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.