Poets logo

I See You

Man Born from The Sun

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
2

I never saw you for anything you said you were

I paid attention, I listened closely

I saw more, I felt more from you

Maybe more than anyone else saw

Or at least cared enough to pay attention to

Always on guard, never letting anyone get too close

Putting up a charade, nothing but smiles and laughter

But I see the darkness that lingers underneath

I can feel it, I've always been drawn to it

It's a darkness that comforts my own

I know I can heal it, but I know you won't let me

Just when I think you're letting me in

I know you're not

You only keep me as close as you want me

But far enough away for you not to need me

I believe you to be much like the sun

Things are to be kept away so they don't get burned

But are you doing it to protect me?

Or to protect yourself?

love poemsFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Arooba Raheel15 days ago

    Your narrative is excellent.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.