Poets logo

What Have I Done?

A Song of Lost Chances

By Jack DrakePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
What Have I Done?
Photo by Jessica Ruscello on Unsplash

"What Have I Done?"

There is a but lone bright star,

Irretrievably too far,

Bound ever to earthen green,

Under skies bluest I've seen...

What have I done? Caused by the setting of the sun...

That which I want most, escapes my grasp like a ghost!

Gazing on life's endless sky, looking long stand I...

There is but a single light, unreachable height!

There is a but lone bright star,

Irretrievably too far,

Bound ever to earthen green,

Under skies bluest I've seen...

With time it grows stronger, even days are longer...

Trying to gain more, casualty without war!

Unreconciled, in a lonely wasteland exiled...

Though I have yet a heart of gold, all else is sold!

There is a but lone bright star,

Irretrievably too far,

Bound ever to earthen green,

Under skies bluest I've seen...

Standing in the cold, only that I were more bold...

Without fighting lost the battle, hear death's rattle!

Pain quite great, never early enough, far too late...

Lost in the darkness of the sun, what have I done?

There is a but lone bright star,

Irretrievably too far,

Bound ever to earthen green,

Under skies bluest I've seen...

-- J.R.H.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Jack Drake

It is what it is.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jack DrakeWritten by Jack Drake

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.