Poets logo

We Were Never Friends

Lonely Girl Diaries Poetry Collection

By Jennifer S. Benson Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
We Were Never Friends
Photo by Chang Duong on Unsplash

Where did they go?

The people that I once called friends...

The few who smiled in my face and told me that they'd always be there

Supporting me

Caring about my welfare

Showing me kindness

Moot

I have Irrefutable proof

That friendship is a fallacy

You dispute me

Tell me that we'll always be friends

It isn't you, it's me

I'm to blame for its failure

Why didn't I call you?

Why didn't I try harder?

Yet, you stand there in your ivory tower

Never once picking up the phone

Never once reaching out to say hello

Waiting

Always waiting

For someone else

To cross the expanse of space and time

To tell you that you are special

That you are loved

That you are cherished

Your friendship is what I crave

So it should be ME who pulls us together

It should be I who moves the mountains

Yet, I'm selfish

I like my solitude

I don't mind the quiet

Your voice doesn't still my soul

Or offer me comfort

You mean very little to me

As I mean very little to you

So let's dispense with the games

Let's admit our truths

The truth that stares into each of us so clearly

With such clarity

That it cannot be denied

We were never friends, to begin with...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer S. Benson

Jennifer is both a fiction author and mindset coach. Her newest series, The Brink of Sanity takes you on a paranormal journey into the unknown and the terrifying. Do you think you are brave enough?https://www.udemy.com/user/jenniferbenson/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.