Poets logo

We Sprayed the Sunflowers Today

And I Find that I Miss those Crowns of Gold

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
73
Image by Author

We sprayed the sunflowers today,

not with malicious intent,

this is Kansas, after all,

the Sunflower State.

But we sprayed them just the same

& now they are gone.

*****

They were next to fields

planted in grasses—

corn, wheat, milo, sorghum—

broadleaf herbicide dusted from a plane

does not differentiate between lovely & noxious.

Nor could we be bothered to take the time,

& so they are gone.

*****

Ah, the glory that would have been

adorning the ditches beside the roads

crowns of gold wafting above our heads

as we pass by

inviting us to linger,

pondering the wonder that is our mother.

But we would not tarry,

nor ponder past the moment,

& so they are gone.

*****

And I find myself mulling

over how like us that is as a race,

as a species,

unwilling to take the time to notice

any that do not suit our designs,

dismissing them as insignificant—

collateral damage not worth counting.

And so, we dust them with our ambivalence,

ignoring their cries without pity,

& so they are gone.

*****

But I find that I miss those crowns of gold

as I pass by their withered heads,

on my way to somewhere else.

Image by Author

social commentarysad poetrynature poetry
73

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (52)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    You sprayed the sunflowers. Oh the humanity. Yet the parallels you drew from them and our existence is brilliant. Yes, I am late to reading, but no. I am not. The timing is just right. Starting from the beginning here.

  • I loved this poem… in my youth, I used to pick wild sun flowers for my Mum (from nearby paddocks)… so beautiful, thanks.

  • A very worthy top story! Strongly emotive… for what kills those sunflowers is also killing us 🥺

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Randy, this is so sad! I love the parallels you drew from this "everyday occurrence" though, the sense that the careless often ruin it for the careful. This was so well written and insightful! Beautifully done and a well earned Top Story Badge! 🎉

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Congrats Randy on your leaderboard placement! 🎉

  • Kelly Sibley 9 months ago

    And you had self-doubt. NAH! Congratulations and I loved this piece!

  • Brenton F9 months ago

    A brilliant piece about a saddening topic.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Must have missed this Randy. It is so good. “We dust them with our ambivalence”. Whoa. I love reading someone’s work like this & not knowing where it is going and then become wrapped in its richness.

  • Oh wow the photo at the end says it all. My first real serious I might want to marry you relationship was with a girl who loved sunflowers. I sent her bouquets of them never bought a rose and though that relationship ended they have remained one of my favorite flowers.

  • Kelly Khoo9 months ago

    Beautiful lament for lost sunflowers, urging appreciation for fleeting beauty.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Love, love, love! The repetition of the last line in each stanza really works well here. Congratulations on the TS!

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Magnificent yet tragic, Randy. You are a word master!! 🥰

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I don't know how this eluded me for 3 days, but I'm glad it made Top Story so I got to read it. Also because it's very worthy, of course. Wonderful words, my friend!

  • Kelly Robertson9 months ago

    This is so beautiful and yet sad at the same time. Sometimes it's the little things in life that mean the most and that we often trample on. Well done!

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    So Pastor Randy - Here in Cali' we have vibrant orange 'Poppy' fields spread along the countryside - Groups are bused-in just to view the sites - They are nourished by 'Bees' - You're always a lot of fun - with a huge fan base; well deserved - J-Bud Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Sad, yet also beautiful. Great poem, Randy.

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Randy, I absolutely love this! I felt the grief and yearning in every line– and the way you related it to life was seamlessly gorgeous. Such a moving piece!!! As a side note- I hate that we spray anything. The destruction on the surface is only a small picture of what it does to the Earth’s microbiome. Makes me sad. 🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    Great stuff Randy. Really enjoyed this verse: And I find myself mulling over how like us that is as a race, as a species, unwilling to take the time to notice any that do not suit our designs, dismissing them as insignificant— collateral damage not worth counting. And so, we dust them with our ambivalence, ignoring their cries without pity, & so they are gone.

  • Excellent words and congratulations on you Top Story

  • Elizabeth Rojas9 months ago

    You have such an elegant yet heartfelt way with words 🖤 I am impressed with how beautifully you craft each line.

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    This is absolutely so moving, Randy. This part really got me: "And I find myself mulling over how like us that is as a race, as a species, unwilling to take the time to notice any that do not suit our designs, dismissing them as insignificant— collateral damage not worth counting." This is so true. Humanity is so quick to dismiss that which it believes does not serve it. We are quick to look only for material gains and do not take time to (I'm going to get a little spiritual here) appreciate the souls of nature around us. The ending was also really impactful to me - how you did think about the sunflowers in their young beauty and missed them, but you were already moving on to somewhere else. 🥲 This is stunning. Congrats on Top Story!! 🥹❤️❤️ Well deserved!

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Such a story of longing and grief and acceptance and tiredness and desire to move forward yet still sadness and ugh so much

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Pulls at the heart strings!!! Senseless destruction of natures beautiful sunflowers, reminds us a lot of damage done in the name of progress. Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    This made me so sad 😩😩❤️. It was very beautiful though!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.