Poets logo

We'll be right back

after this break

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
Made with CanvaPro

Oh my word, why are you so loud?

I can hear you over a screaming crowd.

My ears are bleeding, my nerves are shot,

Subtle you are really NOT!

The evening was peaceful, the mood was chill,

Until your obnoxious volume screeched like a drill.

Now adrenaline is pumping, I feel a bit strung out,

All for something I don't even care about.

This is on discount, buy that today,

Hurry, hurry before the deals go away!

The more you profess to tell me the things that I need,

The more I will never buy them–I would rather bleed.

And don't get me started on medicinal ads,

If doctors prescribe it, why list all the bad?

I don't need to know it can give constipation,

Your long list of side effects only makes me change the station.

Your sale is extended, buy-one-get-one new suits?

I'm grabbing the remote and hitting the mute.

So maybe change your flawed method and try to be calm,

Or the only thing you'll get from me is the freaking f-bomb.

____________________________________________________

Written in response to constantly being bombarded by commercials that are noticeably much louder than the program I'm watching. I understand they are trying to get people's attention but all they do is get on my nerves. The jarring volume change is not necessary. Rant over, lol.

slam poetry
8

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This is perfectly expressed and very relatable. This is why I only watch streaming stuff. So then I can dodge a lot of the crappy commercials! Awesome work!

  • Omgggg, tell me about it! I'm the same! The more it tells me to get something, the more determined I becomes not to get it. Lol!

  • Kevi Babout a year ago

    I've noticed that too, the advert always seems to be that little bit louder than program you're actually interested in watching. Annoyingly clever...

  • I am there with you on this

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So relatable! Those darn commercials really are so loud; felt this! Great work!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Loving your slam poem!!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Omg, yes!! That drives me nuts. I end up muting most times as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.