Poets logo

We Are All A Little Bit Broken

However judgement is not the answer to it all

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago 2 min read
9
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Do you often look at me and wonder on my life?

Pass judgement upon me and label me lazy?

Well, let me explain the life I have lived,

Because I may have been abused, but that doesn’t make me crazy!

💔

That abuse floored me and made my life hard,

So instead of passing judgement, please consider asking why

I now find the need to protect my tender heart,

Instead of looking at me as being terribly shy!

💔

I may struggle with new connections but it’s not from shyness,

I didn’t have an easy time of it in my early youth,

No, bitterness is not the emotion that often arises,

Instead maybe consider it’s just me speaking my truth!

💔

I live in the world as best as I can, given the circumstances,

I take every day as it comes, sometimes wondering how I managed,

You look at me and think I’m holding tight to my past,

But it’s my past that holds tight because I was severely damaged!

💔

Don’t you think I’d rather forget all that old crap?

If I could just feel the fear and the hauntings that scare,

Looking at me like I’m delusional won’t help my cause,

Instead try to understand, for so long I lived a nightmare!

💔

I did everything I could at the time to escape and be free,

So don’t glare down at me like I’m something disgusting,

You tend to believe that maybe I was just being weak,

But remember I was but a child, if anything I was too trusting!

💔

It was a tough lesson to learn, let me tell you that,

So maybe instead of turning your back, ask me how I’m feeling?

I’ve struggled and fought to get to where I am today,

However don’t take that as giving up, see it as me finally healing!

💔

Each day I grow stronger and the past haunts me less,

Well that’s the way I need to pretend that I’m living,

You may see me as one incapable of feeling love,

But you’d be wrong as I am actually quite giving!

💔

Maybe I don’t let many people get too close,

But if you were honest, you’d realise that’s definitely fair,

I know I’m not totally on my own or even alone,

I see you standing on the sidelines, yes I see you there!

💔

I’m not someone to fear, for maybe I’m just misunderstood,

It was not all bad, there’s a lot of memories I reminisce,

With a little understanding and some patience or two,

I’m a decent human being and I’m constantly fighting all this!

💔

Let’s face it — if the truth be told, we are all a little bit broken,

Some more than others, and yes I have my fair share,

Wouldn’t the world be a bigger and better place

With a lot less judgement and a lot more care?

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

social commentaryinspirational
9

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Very well said & beautifully written!

  • I so wish people would just learn to be more kind to each other and judge less. Loved your poem my friend!

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    C - Yes, all just a 'Bit-Broken' with the "Old Crap" J

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    We were certainly born perfect but life traumas can turn us to dysfunctional humans for sure. That’s an everyday battlefield for sure but we are warriors of life . We keep learning and keep trying to gain power over our life adversities. Thank you for sharing your wonderful poetries.

  • So how are you feeling today, my friend? Is there anything I can do to help?

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Loving this especially your closing line!!! Sending hugs, my friend 💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.