Poets logo

I Won’t Believe It’s the End

I miss you so much my dear best friend

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 2 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

You were such a major part of my life, my circle of friends,

Integrated in every aspect of my world and my day,

Always at the end of the phone for a quick chat, a catch up,

Or to give me advice and listen to anything I had to say.

😢

Than suddenly you were gone, poof — disappeared,

And with you went a large chunk of my heart,

It destroyed my equilibrium and almost destroyed me,

And I had to pick up those broken pieces and work out where to start.

😢

I didn’t think I could carry on living without you in my world,

But I have managed it to some degree, although not at all well,

I still reach for the phone with a smile of anticipation,

Only to remember I had to once more bade you farewell.

😢

I feel like I’ve lived your demise a thousand times over the last three years,

Reliving the heartbreaking agony over and over again,

You’ve no idea how dearly you are missed my old friend,

Or how much I hate living in this constant crippling pain.

😢

I knew you were a necessary part of my existence,

I never took you for granted but I also never dreamed

That you’d be taken so soon and so suddenly,

But you were aware or so it seemed.

😢

You quietly and without fanfare said your goodbye to me,

But you never let me in on the time or the place,

I wandered merrily along my pathway in this life,

Having no idea of the heartbreak I was about to face.

😢

I cry often for that special ingredient that is now missing from my world,

The tears wash away my heart’s pain for a tiny space of time,

Although that bloody vessel still slowly refills with the torment

Of loosing you my friend, too soon to lose you in your prime.

😢

Three years today, the day that left my heart shattered and scattered

Across the void of emptiness that you left behind,

Gone, although I promise you’ll never be forgotten,

As I have all of our glorious and loving memories to remind.

😢

So once more I’ll cry my goodbye to someone special,

My hero, my bestie, the most wonderful friend,

I’ll still talk to you and remember the good times,

As I don’t believe our friendship ever really end!

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    This was so emotional. We often feel so lost when someone is taken from us so suddenly. Sending you lots of love and hugs my friend ❤️

  • Prayers & blessings to you, my friend. May God grant you shalom & a calming reassurance.

  • Sheila L. Chingwa11 months ago

    I feel this.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.