Poets logo

Walls

my strength not my weakness

By Gail S.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Walls
Photo by Donnie Rosie on Unsplash

Walls I place around me

Are not so I can hide

They are there as self protection

From the feelings deep inside

The things I can’t forget

The horrors in my mind

When I feel overwhelmed

They keep me safe inside

Physical scars can heal

Mental ones do not

My walls give me an option

To heal when things get hot

I’ve let them down before

To let some people in

But when it starts to hurt too much

I bring them up again

I pretend that I don’t need them

But I know I always will

They’ve always been here in the past

I know they are here still

Please don’t think they mean weakness

For within them my strength I gain

Until the day I am healed

And can bring them down again

Love, Gail

inspirational

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Gail S.Written by Gail S.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.