Poets logo

Waiting for the Soul's Gate

To open up and fill my cup

By Jaclyn Gilbert Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Waiting for the Soul's Gate
Photo by Laila Gebhard on Unsplash

How is it

That one had to wait until 28

In order to feel love flow from their souls gate.

Why is it

That when I look to another they don't match

The way you made me feel, like a perfect catch.

What can I do

When I drive through your hometown and still choke

The memories sail in out of the fog and smoke

Where could I go

To escape this emotional undertow

So that I may breathe without feeling you with each inhale

Reliving each kiss like it was a fairy tale

Who can compete

With the man who showed me affection

When everyone else assumed me infectious

When will this fade

These cycles of longing for your intoxicating pain

The pain where I gave you all of me

And you wouldn't even let me in.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.