Poets logo

Waiting for the Eye of the Storm

A poem by Lena. A variation of the Villanelle

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Image Source: Pixabay. No further attribution required.

. . .

Author's Note: The following is the 12th poem in my self-challenge to write a poem a day. Click here for the first poem in this challenge. Thank you for reading and wish me luck to keep the pace ❤

. . .

Oh, it's been such a long storm.

Though others seem trapped in the eye,

The rain never pauses for me.

*

I push my back to the wind,

And I press on as the world rages madly on.

But it's been such a long storm.

*

"It's the eye you must fear," they say

While they seek rest upon their calm seas.

But the rain never pauses for me.

*

And I wonder at their fear,

Envying them as they bask in the sun of the eye.

While for me, it's been such a long storm.

*

I press my back to the wind,

And I hold out against the storm that rages on,

Knowing the rain will not pause for me.

*

"It's the eye you must fear," they say,

But I wait in expectation for the eye of the storm.

Yet, the rain never pauses for me,

And this storm has raged on for so long.

. . .

© Lena Borondia 2022, all rights reserved

Previoiusly published on Medium

. . .

Author's Note: The following is the 12th poem in my self-challenge to write a poem a day. Click here for the first poem in this challenge. Thank you for reading and wish me luck to keep the pace ❤

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    Excellent words Lena , just saw you on my Vocal subscription. brilliant work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.