Poets logo

Writing Through the Fire

A Poem by Lena. Form Created by Author.

By Lena FolkertPublished 2 years ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2022
59
From Pixabay

First place recipient of the David Middleton Poetry Award. Previously published in The Mosaic Literary Magazine.

***

I don't write for you.

I write to get through - 

Through the mire,

And the fire.

*

I write the words that replay

In my mind every day - 

Words that sting,

Words that sing.

*

Thoughts are weights that pull like gravity,

Pulling me down - dark is all I see.

Helpless.

Hopeless.

*

I don't write for you.

I write to get through - 

Through the mire,

And the fire.

*

To purge these thoughts that taunt,

And expel the ghosts that haunt- 

Holding me captive,

Keeping me as slave.

*

To these thoughts that pull like gravity,

Pulling me down - dark is all I see.

Helpless.

Hopeless.

*

So I write the thoughts that push through.

Through words, I find the days renewed - 

No longer captive,

Nor a helpless slave.

*

Through the mire,

And the fire -

With words I find my way through,

And my words are not for you.

🖤🖤🖤

*** If you would like to join Vocal+ and receive more returns on each story and be able to enter more challenges, please click HERE and use my referral link, which will help me earn a little more toward treats for my fur babies.

Author's Note: Thank you for honoring me with a read. If you've enjoyed what you've read, please click on the 🖤 and explore my other work. All reads, likes, tips, and pledges feed my writer's soul and give me the fuel to keep sitting down at my computer to bleed out words.

Xx - Lena

***

Copyright Lena Folkert 2022

Originally published on Medium.

inspirational
59

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz5 months ago

    Lena, I am not a poet, I can only read what others write, in envy. This is so beautiful,

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    You know what's so crazy is I found you through the vocal chat, and this was the second thing I read and it was so pretty and so relatable. I love that you write for you. ❤️

  • Andrew C McDonald9 months ago

    This is actually quite poignant in it’s way. It speaks to how some are writers not for accolades and recognition, but, because they have a simmering potpourri of words whirling in their minds. Words that will consume the writer, taking up full residence in his/her psyche. Bad tenants playing loud music and stomping around until your friends, family, and others around you are effected. Thumbing their noses at you until they are excised, evicted from the crannies by the power of the pen. The very best, most emoting writers write not for others, but for themselves. Because they must. Great job! I am your subscibbler. 👍😁🦅

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    I'm sorry I am so late to the party on this! So very relatable and so beautifully expressed Love it Lena!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    This is very relatable. Words are for having, not for reading. We write for ourselves way before we write for anyone else, and some things we would never show, not even to a twin soul 👍

  • I could hear a tune as I read this, so I started singing it. Lovely, Lena.

  • Seriously Caring2 years ago

    I know the feeling...

  • Christian Lee2 years ago

    Interesting read, use of refrains and rhyme scheme. I write every day although not always poems. So this was a great reminder of how I feel deep in the heart. It's always a blessing when someone plucks the heartstrings. :)

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Relatable. Agree with previous comment too... you could se this to music. Fab top story!

  • Those words are lyrics. :-)

  • Cristina Hector2 years ago

    Keep writing, we love it. 💛

  • Ali Howarth2 years ago

    Thanks Lena, this is wonderful.

  • Beautiful keep going - healing the soul through poetry is something I am trying to do myself -these lines below literally gave me shivers ! <3 "I don't write for you. I write to get through -  Through the mire, And the fire. * To purge these thoughts that taunt, And expel the ghosts that haunt- Holding me captive, Keeping me as slave." Keep going you very talented <3

  • Tony Pabon2 years ago

    This was beautiful, honestly. Great work!

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    I, and I’m sure “we” can relate. Thank you for capturing it for all of us like a butterfly that must be handled gently. Subscribed as well.

  • Loved this so much! It's like a song

  • I feel this so much. Thanks for sharing.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Beautiful Lena! <3

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    this is fabulous

  • Joe Nasta2 years ago

    I loved the chorus-like repetition! Thanks for writing this

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Beautifully stated! Many hearts ❤️

  • Excellent words from a real poet

  • DragonFly2 years ago

    ❤️left

  • Brilliant, and relatable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.