Poets logo

Voluminous

—-Don’t Hug me I’m scared, Red & Duck. Red’s perspective

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10

Yes, our hearts are so cut

You are so cut up

Like in the precise way you tell me things

They can cut off my voice

Like your expert, fervent shredder

You can make me feel like my bubbled words are voluminous, endless, stuck inside my mouth like toffee, sticky and sweet

But now I feel the scars of my heart and how I let it heal too fast

Before the wounds reopened…

I wanted yours to heal before mine.

Am I so cut up? Am I supposed to go on?

“No, you’re cute, not cut up,” you mumble under your breath, walking away.

I heard you!, I yell and you scoff but laugh anyway.

Not like how some might say I am the “office cut-up,”

I don’t play jokes

Especially not on you.

We laugh at the same jokes

It feels like a vibrant orchestra playing

An extended version of my favorite song

But how can we

Stop the cutting edge of phantasmagorical

Strain

From slicing off the voluminous

Rapture

Of us

When the creeping nightmares slip

Into our living room

And into the telephone lines

And I can’t reach you?

Red Guy, by Sangwoospinkytoe23

sad poetryslam poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreakexcerpts
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Oh this was so emotional! I loved it so much!

  • Or twas it I was never reached, not once sought, never wanted?

  • Incredible job 😉❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.