Poets logo

Vividly Alabaster

A Vanilla Poem

By Timothy GartinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I look fierce and fantastic on my day in the spotlight. I'm terrified, but only he can tell by the look in my eyes. To the world, I am the cool, pure Belle of the Ball. The lace of my dress adorns it and, for a moment, gives the appearance of thousands of intricate ice crystals. It fits me perfectly and the material flows down into the long train like the most beautiful, pale cream.

I think I am both eerie and elegant. I'm reminded of a common specter, the "Lady in White" that haunts every tourist trap. There is always a sad story: a love lost, a broken heart, a promise that was broken. Her lost soul is all that is left and she doomed to walk forever in her chains of ivory. A ghost with porcelain skin. I am like her: simultaneously delicate and dangerous.

I'm at the altar, strong and sparkling. My eyes are probably more calm now that I hold his hand. I can't exactly see. This veil throws a linen-hued haze between my eyes and his. The diamond engagement ring blazes, as does the set of pearls around my neck that were loaned to me by his mom. Can anyone else see him like I do? Maybe I see through love-colored lenses.

My joy, once icy, is indescribable. We run from the service while we are showered with a rain of champagne and rice. Worry melts away and we dance like two snowflakes. Frost gives way to the dazzling, luminous incandescence of our moods. My joy is infectious and his bright smile tells me that our fairy tale begins again today.

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TGWritten by Timothy Gartin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.