Poets logo

Vanilla is great

Just not all the time......

By Serena DPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Vanilla is great.

It's delicious and consistent.

Even simple vanilla has shades.

Beginning with the Italian white, Fior di latte, all the way through to the Cornish butter yellow.

Anyone that says vanilla can't be enough is wrong.

Work your way through every shade, whilst maintaining the essence of vanilla.

However be aware that vanilla, regardless of variety in colour, will always taste the same.

I always thought that vanilla was the only option.

I craved something new, vanilla just wasn't enough.

I had never considered any other flavours.

I put my vanilla aside, opened my mind and took a risk.

Senses overwhelmed, my eyes are bright and wide open.

I start to absorb the array of flavours before me.

Some are immediately attractive.

I could hardly wait for my first taste.

Others are outside my comfort zone. I am unsure of the consequences of those tastes.

Certain flavours are more than exotic!

Perhaps reserved for a certain palet.

Where does a vanilla like me begin?

I want to gorge myself on the assortment before me.

Experience the sensations each flavour brings.

Each different taste ignited another part of me.

I let go, surrender and allow it to take over.

The electric tingle on my tongue spreads throughout my body.

Every mouthful adds a layer to this exhilarating experience.

Sampling everything is part of the fun.

I now know there is a world beyond vanilla.

My choices and selection are now confident.

I have savoured flavours I never before imagined.

Some flavours are still just too funky, they don't excite me. There is plenty on offer, without these excessively strange options.

You need to discover the blend of flavours that make you gasp, lick your lips, and leave you wanting more.

Remember vanilla is always there.

It's reliable, comfortable and safe.

Sometimes all we want is the taste of the familiar.

I love that I can pick and choose from my favourites.

I can combine the perfect concoction, to fulfil my mood.

When I open myself up to new flavours it creates raw desires.

Taste everything available, discover what satisfies your urges.

Others will suggest and recommend their favourites, but remember the choice is always yours.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Serena D

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.