Poets logo

USN

The well wishes from a shore command

By Kayla LindleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
USN
Photo by Levi Meir Clancy on Unsplash

Navigating nebulous nautical

Navy navigates near north

Noble naval navigators

Nimbly navigate narrow narrows

Nodding nautical newcomers

Notice Navy's noble nature

This was inspired by my naval career. I was an unfortunate soul that never stepped foot on a ship in the entire 5 years I was in the Navy, but I always wondered what it would be like.

I was a Hospital Corpsman in the Navy, and I primarily was stuck to shore commands. I still travelled and I am grateful for my experiences, I got out of Saint Louis, MO if that says anything. But I never stepped off or on a ship the entire time I was in.

Even with sea to shore rotations, there just wasn't alot of action going on. Even the climate of military life is something that is completely different from back in the day. Originally you went in and you were serving your country doing great things, seeing action etc.

I was at 2 shore commands back to back giving immunizations to pediatrics patients and getting the "hot dog" song stuck in my head from Mickey Mouse Club House.

So this poem is the imagination of what life could've been like out at sea from a sailor who was ashore looking out at the waters from her desk.

-Kayla

excerpts
3

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    I really liked this, you did excellent, even if you never got on the boat! It had a flow to it... as if we were out at sea!... no but really, a great flow.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    As a Navy brat I can officially say, 'Well done, sailor!"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.