Poets logo

Jake's Metamorphosis

The sign that flutters by to remind me I'm not alone.

By Kayla LindleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Jake's Metamorphosis
Photo by Melissa Burovac on Unsplash

Majestic monarchs meander

Midst meadows, mountains

Migrating, metamorphosing

Miraculous, magnificent

Masterpieces, mesmerizing

Marvelously maneuvering

Multitudes, monarchs

I chose to write about monarchs, because I associate monarchs with a loved one who passed away back in 2021. It was one of the hardest deaths to occur. I just felt numb, and no matter what came my way there was no comfort. The day after his funeral, I remember I was outside with my dog, and saw a monarch butterfly. It was unusual because at that time of the year, monarchs are rarely seen in that area.

So every time I see a monarch, or something with a monarch I automatically feel its his way of looking after me. Like it's a visual reminder of him. I'm so glad to have known Jake, he was such an amazing individual with a loving soul. We had sort of a text book rom-com meeting. I was a checker at a grocery store, and he was known as the "cupcake boy".

But now those are memories locked away in a place for those days when I feel most alone. I do good at avoiding my feelings, of missing him and just feeling alone, and then I come across a monarch butterfly and I'm reminded of what it's like to feel human, to breathe, and to experience pure love.

So for now here's my nod and ode to to the blacks and oranges that flutter by in the moments when I least expect it. Reminding me I am not alone.

-Kayla

I

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Kayla Lindley

Kayla is a neuro-spicy single mom, and writing is her therapy. When she isn't writing, Kayla is out collecting crystals, growing her sticker collection, and hiking in the mountains of Northern Washington with her Corgi Morty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss. Monarchs are awesome little creatures, aren't they?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.