Poets logo

Us

It’s Her and Me and Us and God

By A Young Woman Who WritesPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Us
Photo by Eduardo Drapier on Unsplash

Her and Me and Us and God

It’s her. The person I adore. Fun loving, pleasant, strange, kind, softhearted, pensive, free-spirited, energetic, intelligent, deep.

It’s not hard to love her. She is so amazing to me I’m so many ways. She is something to appreciate. Someone to look up to. She is someone I am proud to know.

It’s Me. The person I adore. Creative, honest, kindhearted, intentional, strange, fun-loving, passionate, exacting, intelligent, deep.

It’s not hard to love me. I am so amazing in so many ways. I am something to appreciate. Someone to look up to. I am someone I am proud to be.

It’s Us. Our Union. The powerhouse that moves mountains. An entity of awe, of reverence and scorn. The uncontrollable, crashing waves that move, but cannot be moved. They overwhelm her. They overwhelm me.

It’s not hard to love us. But just as a beach mystifies, and an ocean bewilders.

It’s her that’s out of control.

It’s me that’s out of control.

It’s Us taking on the passion-filled declarations of love and hate. Whipping them into waves that toss our bodies to and fro.

It’s Us.

And we are no longer at the beach, we are in the ocean. Too far from shore to let cowardice carry us back to safety.

Our fears now, not hers, not mine.

They belong to us. And the fears of Us only serve to further incite the waves.

So I hear her scream louder.

“Stop being afraid of us!” But the waves climb higher.

And she hears me scream louder.

“Stop being afraid of us!” But the waves climb higher.

It was Love at first sight. The birth of Us. The first real vision of Her. The first real vision of Me. Seeing beyond the masks of competency and fortitude. We are a vision to behold. Beautiful, Compelling, Chaotic.

It was terror at second sight.

It’s God. The life behind it all. The light in her eyes. The passion in my voice. The weight in the water that displaces us both so that either of us might be supported.

Be supported by Us.

The dissipation of the fear that drowns her. The dissipation of the fear that drowns me.

It’s not hard to love God. It’s a little more of a struggle to let God love me.

For me, Love is the easy part. I love her. I love me. I love Us. I love God.

And everyday I am learning how to let her and me and us and God love me back. And everyday those terrifying waves become less and less terrifying.

I am letting the powerhouse become home.

Happy Valentine’s Day to the other Captain of this ship.

love poems
1

About the Creator

A Young Woman Who Writes

Hey!

Poetry, fiction, journal freewrites, and articles.

Themes: Love, Interpersonal Relationships, Psychology, Sociology, Empowerment, Sex

If you enjoy what you read please like, subscribe or leave a tip! 👋🏾

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.