Poets logo

Up There

She forgets every time

By GiaPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Like
(Credit:in.pinterest.com)

Every day, I expect you to shake me awake and smile at me.

Calling your name, I exit my bedroom and yawn.

"Lola? Up already?" asks Papa, who's cooking pancakes sleepily.

"I was not feeling tired. Where's Ella?" I ask as I look through the open window, revealing the break of dawn.

Papa pulls me into his arms and looks down at me sadly.

"Sorry Lola, your sister won't be with you today, but she will be watching over you from up there," he says, pointing to the ceiling.

Ella, that's when I remember, that you left me and went up there without saying goodbye. Once again I'm mad at you and crying into Papa's arms.

sad poetryFamily
Like

About the Creator

Gia

"To gain your voice, you have to forget about having it heard." - Allen Ginsberg

"Stay faithful to the stories in your head." - Paula Hawkins

“I write because I don't know

What I think

Until I read

What I say.” - Mary Flannery O'Connor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.