Poets logo

Untitled #1, 2020

a poem

By Abby SiegelPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wait for transition

knowing I am loved

knowing slowness is not failure

the time is static in my brain

knowing when I come back

my heart beats to the rhythm

of life

I wait for my turn

on the road winding

toward a dark tunnel

“it’s pretty dark right up the last few hundred yards”

but even I know there is light

there at the end and edge

of the world

there is a threshold to cross

dark to light

I am holding their hands

so I go through

tethered to myself before

that made myself now

going over last is no failure

I am me in all phases

if no one sees it

they know no love

I bear into my readiness

~~~~~~~~~~~

©Abigail Siegel, 2020

**The quote is from the classic film “Now, Voyager” (1942)**

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Abby Siegel

Currently a grad student in classics researching Latin poetry as well as myth and folklore. I write poetry most of the time, and I am working on my first poetry collection. I also write book reviews and other blog pieces.

Buy me a coffee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.