Poets logo

Untidy Weavings

Or Dreaming of You

By Jake TrammellPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
Untidy Weavings
Photo by Brian Wangenheim on Unsplash

“I dream of you, more often than I’d like to admit. Every night if I could put a number to it. Under the cloth of darkness, within my cocoon of blankets that once cradled your skin; I lay awake thinking of everything under the sun. Praying, hoping for one night of untidy weavings. A semblance of idiocy that can be laughed about in the morning. Yet every night I dream of you. The longing that lingers on my lips, hunger upon my finger tips. A stampede of a thousand sparrows beating my chest. An eternity of honey sweetening my ears.

I wake praying for the voracious paralysis to let go of my soul, let go of my dreams keeping me tethered. I dream of you, speaking softly when I am in tatters. A melody of meetings in front of our cars. The moon sending her hands across the eons to cup your face. Written notes dancing between the passage of time. I feel you across the stars, tending to your grace, giving to your heart, laughing in the dark.

I dream of sweetness, and sniffling. Of stillness, and shortbread. Of diligence, and cravings. Understanding our dreams has been a long standing journey for all of mankind, yet I don’t wake wondering. A peace from piecing the knowing together, a bit of spittle smearing my cheek whispering a song of sobriety. Of clarity. There’s no mystery to be solved, though I claim to be curious. I dream of softness, and embrace.

If distance made the heart grow fonder, then my heart twisting in affection and yearning leads to credence to the old adage. I dream of you each night, against my better judgement. I go about my day without a thought or two, and each night it’s only you. I look to the birds, the bees, the trees, the seas. I look for guidance in an ever so biased universe, to make it through the night without a dream of you. Yet I woke again today, listlessly waiting for a good morning that won’t come.”

surreal poetryMental Healthlove poemsFree Verse
Like

About the Creator

Jake Trammell

I write things I could never speak aloud. Usually in the form of poetry or short stories. One day I’d like to write a novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.