Poets logo

Unjust Justice

Unjust

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 26 days ago 2 min read
Stuck in jail

It’s messed up that we live in a nation so flawed, where defending yourself becomes a crime outlawed.

Arrested, condemned for fighting the pain, for striking back against life’s cruel chain.

My dad came at me with a baseball bat in hand, at sixteen, I stood where I couldn’t withstand.

In a surge of rage, I took it from him, then, in a moment of weakness, I struck again and again.

The anger consumed me, my vision went red. The years of abuse echoing in my head.

I was sent to prison, locked away, for the defense that shattered that fateful day.

It hurts knowing how badly I hurt my dad, despite the cuts, broken bones, and bruises I had.

Each strike I landed was a cry from my soul, a desperate attempt to regain some control.

But what hurts the most, what haunts me at night, Is the hatred I harbor, a dark, endless fight.

How could I still hate the man who raised his hand? Yet long for his pride, to understand.

The justice system saw only the scene, a boy with a bat, his anger obscene.

But they couldn’t see the years of despair, the beatings, the fear, the weight I bear.

In my cell, I grapple with guilt and regret, for the pain I inflicted, the lines I offset.

I’m torn between the wrong and the right, In a world where shadows blur with light.

I hate him, I love him, I’m lost in between, a swirl of emotions, a haunting routine.

To seek his approval, a desire so deep, Yet knowing his pride is a dream I can’t keep.

A father’s love twisted, a son’s heart betrayed, In the battle for peace, my soul is waylaid.

It’s messed up, this nation, this heart-wrenching plight, where justice is blind to a child’s desperate fight.

In the silence of night, I search for release, from the torment within, to find some peace.

For now, I carry the burden alone, in a world where justice has turned to stone.

How do I reconcile the hate and the pain, with the need for forgiveness, to be whole again?

It’s a heartbreaking journey, a confusing quest to find solace, to lay my heart to rest.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.