Poets logo

Little excerpts

That are too big on their own

By AJPublished 5 days ago 1 min read

Closing remarks:

I was so committed

To proving I was

Good at love

That I didn’t realize

You weren’t

-

There is something in me

that has rotted

Like an apple with a bad spot

It can’t be salvaged

Compost it

-

Dumbest woman in America:

The other shoe drops

And again somehow,

Even thought I was on the lookout

I’m surprised by it

I even tied the shoelaces - the perfect size for a noose

and buffed out the leather - I can see my disappointment in them

Everytime

There’s two shoes

And every time

I’m trying to get out the door in my slippers

-

I won’t be caught off guard again

And no one will ever again

get to experience the love I once offered up

from the very depth of my heart so casually

It’s not a punishment

It’s just the kindest thing I think I can do

So I don’t break anymore things

Free Verseexcerpts

About the Creator

AJ

Because locking myself in a dimly lit house on the seaside and feverishly pouring my soul out on a typewriter is not available to me right now

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AJWritten by AJ

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.