Poets logo

Unbroken

The Darkness

By Dawn SaloisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Darkness and Hope

I shun the darkness

She swims in the depths of my soul

☯️

With fear and shame

I try to bury and banish her

☯️

I thrust her down

She pushes back savagely

☯️

I surrender the fight

I cannot dispel her

☯️

The darkness is not an invader

She is a part of me

☯️

I acknowledge and embrace her

She is not malevolent

☯️

She is neither virtuous nor corrupt

She simply is

☯️

I need both halves

The dark and the light

☯️

When I accept the darkness

The battle is over

☯️

I no longer reject myself

I am unbroken

☯️

This poem was written for a writing challenge limited to 100 words. The theme was "Darkness."

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Dawn Salois

Mother of a wonderful son. Writing is a relatively new passion of mine. I love to create my own images. Self-published author of Shadow and Flame.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler2 years ago

    Lovely poem! Shadow work would be the Jungian term, I believe. Our eyes can only see a certain range of light on the spectrum. I suspect our hearts are much the same, and what is first perceived as darkness is seething with light and warmth we've yet to equip ourselves to feel.

  • That is absolutely superb

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    This is insightful. Amazing job here. Wows!

  • Thank you for sharing💖

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Nice , you did a great job 👏👍I was just holding my breath while reading this . ♥️👏

  • Life gets so much easier when we embrace our darkness rather than fight it. A very beautiful poem! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.