Poets logo

Uh, No!

Goodbye To Love

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
13
Uh, No!
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Like a cannon to the face -

the thought of letting love back in.

Gone without a trace,

before I'd do that crap again.

!

A bath with electric eels,

would be more calming, than a first date.

Not to mess with all the feels,

but that ship has met its fate.

!

Thumb tacks on the bedroom floor,

more appealing than high heels.

Jehovah Witness at the door,

let's invite them in, to have a meal.

If that ain't clear enough,

I'll give myself a home-made Brazilian Peel.

Use a cup of lemon juice,

to aptly, hasten up the heal.

!

No, I'm not keen on love,

please take my number off your phone.

I swear to God above,

I'm doing fine, here on my own.

If I ever change my mind,

I've called ahead and hired a hitman.

With directions to leave behind,

the middle fingers of my hands.

!

Sure, it's good for some,

and I'm glad you found the real thing.

My experience with love,

was like 1000 tiny stings.

He was Jeckel for a while,

But Hyde, hid just beneath the surface.

Fooling with a smile

before exploding in my face.

!

So, I may write of love,

it is as beautiful as cursive.

But for me, it's like hand cuffs,

lined with colorful cursing's.

Deliberate and hard the lines,

I draw for my protection.

So, if not having love is a crime,

then consider this my confession.

slam poetry
13

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Those LAST LINES SENT ME 🥵

  • Now this is my language! I loved how you related him to Jekyll and Hyde!

  • My favorite line? "Jehovah's Witnesses..., let's invite them in for dinner." We'd actually do it. We enjoy hearing different perspectives. Our only problem is their biblical knowledge tends to be limited & extremely parochial. Thoughts on the two fingers. We did a funeral for a young woman who had been battling cancer her entire life. She had made the request that she be placed in the casket backwards so that all people could see during the viewing were her boots. Her request was honored. You could do something similar with the two-finger salute, at least for a special viewing for your ex (& anyone else for whom you might think it fitting).

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    👏☺️ A Darkly amusing piece.. not sure if that was your intention..

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Whoa, this is amazing, Kelli! You really drove this home - especially with those last lines :)

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Lol. Oh, this is great.

  • Bath with the Electric eels 😬🫨

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Damn! I'm still cringing at the Brazilian peel with lemon. You really drove the point home with this one, Kelli!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.