Poets logo

Two Of Me

Split Identity

By Carol TownendPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Two Of Me
Photo by Taylor Smith on Unsplash

When I look in the mirror,

Is it the real me I see?

You look fat,

I look thin;

Tell me please;

Which reflection is me?

When I look away from the mirror;

Who is it that I see?

I look plain,

While you're so pretty,

Tell me, please;

Who is that woman,

Staring back at me?

Once again, I look in the mirror;

You're too thin,

I'm too fat.

Do I have to diet again,

Just to look like that?

I walk away, but I'm back again;

You look happy,

While the real me sees;

Dull,

Unhappy,

And, depressed.

My friends also tell me,

I'm not really like that!

So please tell me;

Who do I see?

It doesn't look like the real me!

Do I need to change my personality?

Do I need to change my looks?

Every freckle looks like muck;

While my personality reflects lady luck;

I am not lady luck!

I have no flare;

No style;

No charm!

Nobody will fancy me tonight.

So, to the other person in the mirror,

Please reflect back on my true colors.

Besides fat or thin;

Who should I be tonight?

Besides being ugly, or beautiful as sin;

Should I be me, or should I be him?

I really want to fit in.

Whose personality reflects back at me?

Why does it change, every day?

One day I'm me,

The next I'm you;

But then again you change too;

One day I'm beautiful,

The next I'm not;

That can also change in an hour or two.

You keep smiling back at me;

Your happiness doesn't

reflect my reality.

Now, I'm too loud,

Too confident,

Too pretty,

Still not good enough for me;

Who that might be?

So; When I look in the mirror,

Who do I see?

Identity crisis;

Or the real me?

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Beautifully done Carol. I started one with the mirror like that, have not finished it yet. This one is so great, i am quite jealous. You said it so well.

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.