Poets logo

The Art of Being Genuine

On smiling and self-discovery

By Gabriela Trofin-TatárPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
The Art of Being Genuine
Photo by Vinicius Wiesehofer on Unsplash

*How can you keep your lovely smile on? Is it planned, or does it come along? How do you feel with all eyes on you?*

Well, darling, I’m not curious about others’ view.

Not that I don’t care, you see,

I just focus on what’s best for me.

If I'm doing gym, my task is clear.

Great music and its rhythm keep me active and real,

I breathe and I feel the creative energy overflowing,

That’s why I smile, to connect and share this glowing vibe.

*Is that your secret, always?

Indeed, in many ways, my work is simple yet it matters,

Writing, guiding others, no matter what I do,

I always strive to be me

And with my smile, I share it all with you.

*How do you keep your calm, your grace?

Focus and presence keep me on my pace.

Remember to be calm, clear, concise, and kind!

Just leave all your horrible doubts far behind.

Because really, the more on our image we dwell,

The further from ourselves we fell,

Our reality distorted, our dreams contorted.

Seeking validation, we lose track of our true self.

*Maturity is hard, I see.

Yes, but all this adulting is also setting me free.

(finally)

Free Verse

About the Creator

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Full Stack Developer in the making and mother of 3 littles. Curious, bookaholic and travel addict. I also write on Medium and Substack: https://medium.com/@chicachiflada & https://chicachiflada.substack.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Ameer Bibi3 days ago

    Just leave your doubts behind Love it, a mindful approach towards life

  • Michelle Liew3 days ago

    Maturity and insights! Great book Gabriela!

  • ROCK 4 days ago

    I appreciate your mindful approach; it flows wondrously!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    “The more on our image we dwell.. “ such insightful lines in this poem. I loved it💕

  • Mariann Carroll4 days ago

    Beautiful , I love the positive vibes in this poem 🥰

  • D.K. Shepard4 days ago

    Love the Q&A structure and the well utilized rhyme! Great poem, Gabriela!

  • Indeed it is an art. It is such an optimistic poem. Loved very much!!!

  • Ainy Abraham4 days ago

    Focus is everything that leads us to achieve our goals.

  • shanmuga priya4 days ago

    The lines....Because really, the more on our image we dwell, The further from ourselves we fell,....I like the most...Truly inspiring!

Gabriela Trofin-TatárWritten by Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.