Poets logo

Twilight Zone Meets Supernatural

Hey, Where's Sam And Dean?

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Twilight Zone Meets Supernatural
Photo by Esteban López on Unsplash

a guttural growl from the dog

sitting alone in the dark

the tv's abstract dialog

raising the hair on my arms

a voice down the hall

calls my name in a whisper

from an old antique doll

that vaguely resembles my sister

she's been dead for awhile

so, it gives me a start

a half frown and half smile

terrorizing my heart

I reach for the remote

to turn off the sound

a scream gets stuck in my throat

as my feet hit the ground

I make a run for the door

but before I escape

there are footsteps on the floor

and flashing kaleidoscope shapes

the steps begin to take chase

I grab the doll by the hair

it firmly tugs on my face

there's a sudden chill in the air

as I wrestle the doll

the dog circles and drools

commanding him to my call

he responds with a howl

like nothing I've ever heard

I sit, trembling with fear

I dare not say a word

as he breathes into my ear

I prepare for the end

saying my last final prayer

the doll begins to ascend

and rests again in its chair

the dog crawled onto my lap

with the remote in his teeth

yawned like he needed a nap

and then fell fast asleep

I sat for a moment

was all in my head?

as sanities proponent

I don't mess with the dead

I pulled up the covers

and covered my eyes

mumbled through the shivers

where are those Winchester guys?

For Fun

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 4 months ago

    Nice scary fun!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    That was scary fun. Well done, my friend.

  • Lol, this was so creepy! I immensely enjoyed it!

  • It's okay. Go back to sleep. Neither doll nor dog are apt to hurt you. What's under the bed & in the closet, on the other hand....

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.