Poets logo

Bedtime

Real Or Make Believe

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
8

*

*

Monsters in my closet

Monsters underneath my bed

Monsters line the linings

Of the thoughts inside my head

A battle rages nightly

In the darkness of my room

I control the outcome slightly

Of its dark impending doom

I am master of the light switch

The procurer of the light

I can scratch away the itch

With the monsters greatest fright

But he controls my fingers

Keeps me imprisoned in my bed

Ensures the nightmarish deeds linger

Every time I crawl in bed

For Funfact or fiction
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Oooo, this was creepy and fun! Loved your poem!

  • Another fabulous poem, Kelli! I love the way you describe your power as "slightly" . . . since you control the light but he controls your fingers! I remember lying paralyzed by fear in bed, too afraid to get up and run to the light switch! The best I could do is pull the covers over my head. (But that was last week. I am stronger now!)

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    This is so good, is the monsters are always there, I just have to not pay attention to them.

  • I love this, Kelli, even though I find personally that I feel quite at home with all the monsters surrounding me, real & imagined, lol.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    love the rhythm, rhyme, and content...you are such a good poet !

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Quite a dillema! Another good one, Kelli! Great cover image, too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.