Poets logo

turn away

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago 1 min read
16
turn away
Photo by Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

turn away bright eyes

before I have to close mine

to shut out the light

stripping my masquerade

.

turn away bright eyes

before I have to run

I can feel this pressure

erasing my defences

.

turn away bright eyes

before the tears begin

I need you to stop

decalcifying my heart

.

turn away bright eyes

before this dam wall bursts

I can feel your truth

crumbling my embankment

.

turn away bright eyes

the intensity is searing

I can’t afford to lose my balance

and the floods are nearing

.

turn away bright eyes

your light is too potent

I am cowardly of love and

vulnerability has awoken

.

turn away bright eyes

leave me in the black

I can’t stand your gleaming light

exposing every part

.

turn away bright eyes

this dam was built with reason

I encased my fear behind these walls

to never have to feel it

.

turn away bright eyes

your fire is scalding

it’s illuminating glare

evaporating my illusion

.

turn away bright eyes

but please don’t go too far

for although I can’t look into them

I also cannot part

.

turn away bright eyes

return me to the dark

but of your light would you mind

to leave me just a spark?

.

.

.

I thought I’d try to write this without rhyming ✨ Which proved impossible. So instead I tried less rhyming. ✨ Which was arguably all harder than writing it with a rhyme! ✨ My mind likes to rhyme. ✨ Must be the ancestral incantations in my blood memory 😉 Thank goodness we are in 2022…2023! ✨ I would have been burned at the stake in years past. I actually think all of us poets would have been!✨

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
16

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Wow, Kayleigh. "turn away bright eyes before the tears begin I need you to stop decalcifying my heart" The concept of tears "decalcifying" anything is on its own incredible. I can't fathom how you came up with that. To me, this stanza is at the heart of your poem's theme. When I read it, I paused, struck by that image. Telling your tears to stop, because they're healing you. Refusing the healing of catharsis, for fear that you won't be able to stop, is definitely relatable, but the way you do it here feels more profound. Fantastically written.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wonderful. Love the ending.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Intense and satisfying. Your repeated line brings Bonnie Tyler to mind, which isn't a bit detrimental for me!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    That last stanza felt so natural though, when you let the rhyme come! My only problem with this Bonnie Tyler kept singing over your work in my head.

  • Mostly just the women poets would have been burned. The men would have been the ones so threatened they felt they had no choice but to condemn them. Autistic. I find it uncomfortable whenever someone is looking at me, & shudder with embarrassment whenever someone discovers me looking at them. Knowing how upbeat you tend to be, Kayleigh, I cannot help but think that this might actually resonate more for me than it does even for you. That inability to bear the light we long so desperately to know is there is me through & through. Thank you for writing this & sharing it with us & for putting that extra effort into it. I would say that it shows, but I can't as this flows seamlessly & effortlessly for me. Beautiful job.

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    I adore every part of this poem!! It's one of my favourites 💛

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautifully written in words and content, with the touch of rhyming working out nicely. Really connects with impact, and I loved it. Small suggestion would be to vary slightly the first line of each stanza. For a shorter poem the re-iteration works well, but for this longer one a little bit of subtle variance would be good. Turn away, bright eyes.... Bright eyes, please close.... look back, bright eyes.... etc...tailored for each stanza. Just a suggestion. 💙Anneliese

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Love this! The descriptions of the eyes are so vivid to me <3

  • Oh wow, I learned from your replies to Rachel that this wasn't from your perspective! I'm definitely the one to run away from bright eyes, lol. Also, I find it so amazing that it's so easy for you to rhyme! I find that so difficult 😅 But I have a cousin who's just like you. Rhyming is like a second nature to both of you!

  • Frankie Martinelli8 months ago

    SO GOOD ❤️

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Omg🥹🥹🥹 i was shocked to read that this wasnt written from ur perspective, it was illustrated so well. My mind likes to rhyme too. That ancestral magic tho ✨😎

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    The uncertainty of love. I felt your need and fear in this. It's scary to open up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.