Poets logo

Truth or Dare

Excerpt from "Simply Poetic"

By Alexis LarivierePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Mirror mirror on the wall

who is the fairest of them all?

I see you,

and you see me

Should we play truth?

or should we play dare?

The truth is I see fat and cellulite

and people gawk and stare

The truth is my hair is thin and I’m only 5’10”

women, they point and glare

The truth is I see skin and bones

and people pass by and whisper in despair

The truth is I wear my hair natural

but people think me and a wig make a better pair

The truth is I dress in drag

and people start yelling “BEWARE!”

The truth is my skin is dark

and when people see me, they get a big scare

To this the mirror replied,

You,

You are the fairest of them all.

I dare you to love yourself

just the way that you are

And if that does not suit you,

then change the way you dress, the way look, and how you do your hair

But change these things for you, and you alone

because I dare you to see

That those that whisper, and gawk, and stare at you in the streets

are unencumbered by the confidence it takes to be you, me, they, he and she

True to and wholly in love with yourself

perfect and beautiful just the way that you are

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Lariviere

Hello creative friends! I've been a creative mind my whole life. I call myself an accidental writer. I hope you enjoy the collection of literary works you will find on my page. Mahalo for stopping by!

-Lex

Instagram: _inkedmermaid_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.