Poets logo

Expectations

Excerpt from "Simply Poetic"

By Alexis LarivierePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I went for a walk today, trying to clear my head

And I thought of all the things I might like to say

If you had stayed and never walked away

As I was walking, I thought to myself

I wouldn’t know where to start

I just wouldn’t know what to say

Because if I asked you why you didn’t stay,

If I asked you why you walked away,

Your answer may never live up to the expectations I have made for you over the years

Then it would be my responsibility to deal with that calamity

But if I asked you instead, if you wished you had stayed,

If I asked you instead if you wished you hadn’t walked away

You may answer yes, and I would inevitably ask you why you didn’t stay

I would ask you why you walked away

And ultimately I would be left responsible to deal with the consequences of the expectations that I have made for you

But if you answer no, I would inevitably ask you why you didn’t stay

I would ask you why you walked away

And ultimately I would be left responsible to deal with the consequences of the expectations that I have made for you

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Lariviere

Hello creative friends! I've been a creative mind my whole life. I call myself an accidental writer. I hope you enjoy the collection of literary works you will find on my page. Mahalo for stopping by!

-Lex

Instagram: _inkedmermaid_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.