Poets logo

True Blue

My one true

By Mesaye Published 2 years ago 2 min read
True Blue
Photo by Yuriy Kovalev on Unsplash

I can remember it like a dream, sometimes I replay it in my head

My very own personal mental stream

Remembering walking into your station, trying to be a supportive friend

She wanted to be all she could be, from there this is where it all began

No fluttering of butterflies, just sheer shock & unadulterated surprise

Did I hear a gasp as I caught my breath?

Standing very still, I couldn't move right nor left

Everything was happening in slow motion, someone near was congratulating you on a promotion

You just stood there eyes focused right in my direction

I steadied myself holding my midsection

Everything & everyone became a blur

I guess this is what happens when tunnel vision occurs

Studying your face, physique & fitness

I was in complete awe as to what I witnessed

The uniform clinging to every inch of your body, surveying the creases

Cascading down your pants, the fluid movement had me in a trance

The shiny medals & name badge labeled you a master sergeant

Later I would find out you used to jump from planes on covert missions

Operating heavy artillery, defending our Constitution from various positions

I felt this urgent need to remind myself to just breathe

What seemed like hours were really only minutes maybe even seconds

There was an energy that filled the room and beckoned

The heat rising from my neck made me want to leave

I began to fidget, I could feel my friend pulling on my sleeve

She was oblivious & totally unaware of you & I locked in this stare

As you began to make your way over to me, I noticed the dimple on your left cheek

You flashed a smile as you began to speak, reaching to shake my hand

I felt weak as our hands mingled at this meet, we both jumped from the electricity

The spark that zipped between this interaction

You gazed into my eyes & I saw mutual attraction

We both blushed & smiled ignorant to the glares from everyone in the room

Knowing this moment couldn't go any further or give way to bloom

I was only seventeen & hiding was my thing

I couldn't confess or address the very notion that our meeting set in motion

Yet the weeks we spent after that made me never forget

Just how close I would get to living a fairytale dream

Where there was a white picket fence & apple tree

But alas I was only seventeen & hiding was my thing

I couldn't & wouldn't confess my feelings for you

Looking back on this I now realize you were my true blue

love poems

About the Creator

Mesaye

From the moment I read my first Edgar Allen Poe story when I was 12 yrs old, I knew what made my heart flutter & what drove my imagination. Writing has been something I’ve loved doing, fell far away from & am now drawn back to it!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mesaye Written by Mesaye

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.