Poets logo

Triggered

Senses discombobulated.

By J. S. WadePublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
30
Triggered
Photo by Jan Antonin Kolar on Unsplash

Sweet cakes turn bitter as you show your face.

Roses perfumed, a vapored stench.

Cringe is the feel as you invade my space.

A battle rages tween flight or entrench.

My hands, receptors, are turning numb.

My body shakes, churning acids wake.

The past is screaming, run, Run, RUN!!

A headache pounds as heartbeats quake.

You had me once with your endearing trust,

My life complete with love and lust.

The world my oyster, diamonds in pearls.

Sweet surrenders, a beautiful world.

A star, at first, you were a shining light

but soon I learned, a meteorite.

Jagged carbon, a destroyer of worth,

Iron cutting flesh, to bleed, to hurt.

I demand to know, why are you here?

After years of help, healed scars, and tears.

You were banned and blocked, in utter disgrace.

And out of the blue you bare your face?

Get out! I know you. Trauma’s your name.

I know your triggers of blame and shame.

I’m alive, your dead, I’ve survived your games,

Through time and courage I’ve shattered your chains.

My ears now clear, my sight is keen.

My touch is real, my taste redeemed,

Brave words are what I have learned to share…

Go away, you sick bastard…

and don’t come back…ever…

you hear?

*** *** ***

slam poetryperformance poetry
30

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden11 months ago

    YES, absolutely..theme song of the broken!

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    What a slam!! I loved these lines: A star, at first, you were a shining light but soon I learned, a meteorite. Jagged carbon, a destroyer of worth, Iron cutting flesh, to bleed, to hurt. Really great work on this one!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Super slam poem!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • Really good Scott

  • This was so relatable. Just when things are going good, it'll rear it's ugly head. We gotta show it who's boss! Great work, Scott!

  • Some bridges can never be rebuilt, especially not by the one who burned them. Some fences are necessary. Some traumas should never be revisited, at least not in the flesh.

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    This is a brilliant piece Scott - very deeply felt and I’m sure identifiable for many! Thanks for sharing this inspiring poem. 😊

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    I have to thoroughly agree with Gina. So many great lines to fully engage with the experience. Top Story in my book for sure. 💖

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    So powerful, Scott! I love the strength at the end. So many great lines in here. I really loved this stanza: "A star, at first, you were a shining light but soon I learned, a meteorite. Jagged carbon, a destroyer of worth, Iron cutting flesh, to bleed, to hurt." 😍😍😍 Amazing job!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Wow. This is great, and powerful. Well done.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Empowering!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    This is as powerful as it gets, Scott, with all senses engaged. Great job!

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Never let that bastard win! 👊 This one punches!!

  • Profound piece❤️💯

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    “The past is screaming, run, Run, RUN!!” … Wow, lots of feelings in here that I can relate to!! ❤️. Beautifully said, Scott.

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Well done Scott! Good luck in the challenge.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.