Poets logo

Toxicity

deciding whether the toxic part of a person overrides the healthy part.

By Lizzy TurnerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

you make me cry

more than you make me laugh

you embarrass me

more than you include me

you push me down

more than you lift me up

you fight with me

more than you take my side

you are toxic.

but

i still stay

because you still make me laugh

you still include me

you still lift me up

you still take my side

even though you cause me so much hurt

you still bring me happiness

they say to drop toxic people

but how do you decide if they’re toxic?

they make it sound like there is a definite divide

healthy

toxic

healthy

toxic

it shouldn’t be hard to distinguish the two

right?

they either make you feel like shit or make you happy

but what if they do both?

what if they’re both?

toxic

healthy

toxichealthy

healthytoxic

it all blurs together

and i don’t know what to do

so i stay.

i.

always.

stay.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Lizzy Turner

I’m here because writing brings me joy and helps me express my feelings. Pretty basic right? I know I know. But it’s still true. I hope that I help atleast one person realizes that they’re not alone.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • DragonFly2 years ago

    Nice one

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.