Poets logo

Touch Starved

May 2020

By Elspeth EvansPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I had always thought that I was an island.

A fortress,

Impenetrable and mysterious.

That I did not need the sweet affections of others to be whole.

But lately I find myself cast adrift.

The cracks are showing in the mortar.

I crave the simple touches of friends,

I need to be held, it seems, to be understood.

I am lonely on my island.

A rock in the middle a turbulent ocean.

I stand in my castle and stare out upon the desolate plains,

With only clouds for company.

I am waiting to feel the fingers of another on my skin,

And hoping it will make me whole.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.