Poets logo

Toronto ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ

A haiku

By Real PoeticPublished 9 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
46
Toronto ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ
Photo by Conor Samuel on Unsplash

Red leaves everywhere.

Maple syrup on all foods.

Poutines are just friesโ€ฆ

*Authorโ€™s Note: Iโ€™m in Toronto for the week. If anyone has any recommendations for places I should visit, let me know in the comments. Iโ€™m not into touristy places. I want to try where the locals go. I hope I didnโ€™t offend anyone by stating the obvious that poutine is just a fancy word for cheese fries. ๐Ÿ˜‚

social commentary
46

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. โœจ

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! โค๏ธ

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • Bugsy Watts9 months ago

    Poutine is elite! but I'm Canadian so I might be biased lol

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Hey RP - congrats on your leaderboard recognition! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘

  • Tina D'Angelo9 months ago

    No, no. Poutine is not just cheese fries! They are a 'thing', much like Curling and the maple leaf. The food network just had an article on them!

  • Talia Devora9 months ago

    I was born and raised in Toronto! Now I live north of Toronto (Richmond Hill, Ontario). Toronto is a great place to be in, especially if you want tons of tourism and recreation options. Thank you for writing such a beautiful haiku about my hometown. It means so much to me!

  • Sara 9 months ago

    I lived in Canada for a year and I love this ๐Ÿ. I beg to differ, though. Poutine is NOT just fries ;)

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Well done. I've lived in Toronto most of my life and one of my favourite things to do is walking the boardwalk at Woodbine beach. I cant count how many times my wife and I have walked our dog there.

  • MANOJ K 9 months ago

    Good going sis

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Have fun on your vacation ๐Ÿ

  • D. J. Reddall9 months ago

    My father squandered years enjoying himself in this Toronto classic: https://www.tripadvisor.ca/Restaurant_Review-g155019-d702008-Reviews-Betty_s-Toronto_Ontario.html

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Poutine is fries, gravy and cheese curds. If you could make the trip a bit further to Niagra Falls

  • Marie Wilson9 months ago

    Poutine (not plural) is made with cheese curds (originally fresh from Quebec) & GRAVY (beef or other). If I want fries, I order fries but if I want poutine, I order poutine - in other words, they are different! But congrats on Top Story & on inspiring a discussion on one of our classic dishes! Ripley Aquarium in TO is absolutely amazing & stunning. Go there! (Have a good time!)

  • Sam Ashley 9 months ago

    Good I love it ๐Ÿ’ฏ

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    Yummy fries indeed ๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธ love this

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    hahah the last line killed me. Nice work, and congrats on TS! I hope your vacation is going well :)

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Nice, congrats on TS!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I can't help; I've been to Blackie, AB and that was a "damn the speed limit" trip up and back. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Cheese friesโ€ฆ Welp There is now blood feud between our houses! โš”๏ธ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ The Royal Ontario museum is always fun if youโ€™re into museums :) I, like most Ontarians outside of Toronto avoid Toronto when possible, but the ROM and the aquarium are always nice ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Nice haiku. Iโ€™ve only been to Vancouver, so no help with that. Congrats on the Top Story

  • Awesome โœจ Congratulations on Your Top Story ๐ŸŽ† ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Never been myself. Hope you have a great time. Superb haiku! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Back to say congrats!!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Great Haiku! Have a wonderful time! I hear Cathy's house is all the rage:)

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    I'm sure you're already aware the Caribbean parade is today! Centre Island is nice, but probably quite busy this weekend. High park is beautiful, if you're into nature. Or, you could just escape up north, like a lot of Torontonians do on a long weekend. Enjoy. Oh, you could try the edge walk, where you strap on and walk around the outside of the CN tower. Lol

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Great haiku. I canโ€™t go to Toronto without visiting Canadaโ€™s Wonderland, tourist trap or not.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.