Poets logo

Kissing Scars

A freeform poem

By Real PoeticPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
21
Kissing Scars
Photo by Matheus Ferrero on Unsplash

If it wasn’t for the punishments

for my actions,

I wouldn’t be so self aware—

With skin as thick as cigars.

Guilt is a useless emotion;

I can’t change the past.

Why would I continue

to apologize for a version of

myself that no longer exists?

We’re here to grow and learn.

How fast I learn or grow is

not anyone else’s concern.

I’ll flourish at my own pace;

Life is not a race.

Self-loathing feelings

get the steppin’.

I won’t allow my mistakes to

be used as a loaded weapon.

I’m grateful for the punches

and kicks—

Life never misses a hit.

But,

I still kiss my scars.

performance poetryinspirational
21

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • ITS YOUR DESTINY 4 months ago

    I love this !

  • Sathishkumar S4 months ago

    super

  • JAY PATEL5 months ago

    https://vocal.media/journal/two-suspects-wanted-in-shooting-death-of-off-duty-greensboro-police-officer-at-gas-station

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Great poem! If this is the one you entered, hats off to you because it is worthy of recognition! 💖

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Gurl you snapped on this! This is fabulous!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    this is fabulous. Love this right here "Why would I continue to apologize for a version of myself that no longer exists?" I agree completely.

  • This poem was sooooo spot on! Life is definitely not a race!

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    This is a truly beautiful piece! Outstanding!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Hell yeah! My new favorite of yours. 🩷 I can’t pick out favorite lines because I’d just be quoting the whole poem.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    I was once told that scars tell the story of a life as it is lived. Like lines in a book, they can be read and provide insight. I've also heard that the scars are what gives a person (or a thing) it's beauty, otherwise we'd all be in mint condition, with no experiences to our names. This poem was lovely, especially the line "I'll flourish at my own pace"

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    You've earned all the blows that life will provide. It will be trophies that will be with you forever.

  • Mesh Toraskar10 months ago

    Beautifully written, love this so much! :)

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Love this

  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    🥹 what a beautiful message and last line. You convey so much meaning with so few words (as youve said to me before!) 👏🏼

  • Perfectly Spoken ❤️🥹📝😊❗

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Well said! Life will punish us enough on its own.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Yes, this made me think of Scars by Papa Roach, and I'm here for it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.